It is currently May 28th, '18, 04:37

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Jan 18th, '18, 22:49 
Midshipman

Have thanks: 0 time
Hello all,
I have had a Sabre 22 for a couple of years and whilst it is an outstanding family boat and has many great features, purely as a sailboat I can't help but feel it doesn't quite sail as well as the Boomerang 20 I had previously.

The old Boomerang was just beautifully balanced, one finger on the tiller and just point anywhere and sail like a gem. The Sabre does not feel so, weather helm at times and a tendency to round up seem to be the most noticeable differences. I note these were identified in a review I read on the Crawford Marine website when the boats were new.

My Sabre hasn't had any mods as far as I can tell and is a 1984 build. I am not an expert sailor and this may play a part, however I would welcome any suggestions on things I might try to get her to sail a little sweeter?

ImageDSC_0278 by StephenLuke, on Flickr
Here she is in Shoalwater Bay, WA on Saturday morning.

Cheers.

PostPosted: Jan 18th, '18, 23:19 
Admiral

Have thanks: 572 times
Get the mainsail recut to reduce the draft.

Then start to work on trimming the sails to get the telltails streaming. You may need more tell tails to figure out an improved trim.

Trimming is a process of doing one thing at a time working from the top of the sail down untill all the tell tails are streaming on both sides together.

Set a course to windward off close hauled. Set the headsail trimmed so the forward telltails draft together (this is done moving the sheet car back and forward while adjusting sheet tension) start with the sheet lose and bring it in till all the forward tell tails are drafting.

Time to start on the top of the mainsail with all controls lose. Get the top drafting with the mainsheet then one control at a time bring them in to improve the mainsail draft from top down. Leave the vang lose.